The NFL Season began last night.  The Cowboys defeated the Giants 24-17.  While, I hate to see the Cowboys winning, it is great to have the NFL back.  My Cubs are plain awful right now.  So, my attention now turns to football.  I blogged last week about the silly little game that is fantasy sports.  I pontificated about my upcoming fantasy football draft.  Since then, I have been invited to join another fantasy football league.  Having a slightly obsessive personality, I accepted the invitation.  The two leagues I am participating in had two different types of drafts: a snake draft and an auction draft.  The snake draft is straightforward – each team gets assigned a draft number (1-10).  The draft order goes 1-10 and then 10-1.  This is how I played last year, and I have a pretty good system for it.

Fantasy Football Draft men at computers

The auction draft is a whole new ballgame.  Each team is assigned $200 (fake), and you bid on players.  Superstars can go for upwards of $50-$70.  This requires a lot of strategy.  It is a more entertaining draft, especially when you try to inflate buying prices of players you don’t really want so that you can get players you want.  I tried this strategy to some success, but it also backfired on me (i.e., I got 4 QBs i wasn’t all that excited about and one WR on suspension for a DUI).  Overall, I had a lot of fun, and I am looking forward to this season.  Here are my two rosters:

Fighting Scots (Snake Draft)

My Fantasy Football Roster

This league starts 1 QB, 2 RB, 2 WR, 1 TE, 2 Flex (RB/WR/TE), 1 D/ST, and 1K.

Quarterback: Eli Manning* (NYG) and Andrew Luck (IND)

Running Back: Adrian Peterson* (MIN), Steven Jackson* (STL), DeAngelo Williams* (CAR), David Wilson (NYG), Rashard Mendenhall (PIT), and  Ronnie Brown (SD).

Wide Receiver: Calvin Johnson* (DET), Percy Harvin* (MIN), Nate Washington* (TEN), Anquan Boldin (BAL), Michael Crabtree (SF)

Tight End: Vernon Davis* (SF) and Jermaine Gresham (CIN)

Defense/Special Teams: San Francisco 49ers*

Kicker: Robbie Gould* (CHI)

Men in Black (Auction Draft)

My second fantasy football team

This league starts 2QBs, 2RBs, 2WRs, 1TE, 1 Flex (RB/WR/TE), 1D/ST, and 1K.  This is not my original draft roster, but reflects one sweet trade I’ve already made.

Quarterback: Joe Flacco* (BAL), Robert Griffin III* (WSH), Josh Freeman (TB), and Andrew Luck (IND)

Running Back: Steven Jackson* (STL), Chris Johnson* (TEN), BenJarvus Green-Ellis (NE), and Roy Helu (WSH)

Wide Receiver: Calvin Johnson* (DET), Vincent Jackson* (TB), Percy Harvin* (MIN), Kenny Britt (TEN), and Brandon Lloyd (NE)

Tight End: Vernon Davis* (SF)

Defense/Special Teams: Houston Texans*

Kicker: Stephen Gostkowski* (NE)

*Denotes Starters

Overall, I think I have two solid teams.  It is going to be a fun season.  I would like to have more overlap on my teams so that I won’t have split allegiances as I cheer each weekend, but we’ll see how that goes.  Which squad do you think I have a better chance with?

Until later friends…