Hunger Games Katniss Gale

I’m usually a late-comer to the literary trends of our day.  I didn’t read the Harry Potter books until the second-to-last film was being released, and I refuse on principle to read vampire romances.  I have heard people talk about The Hunger Games for a couple of years now, but I haven’t paid them much attention.  Recently, however, a ton of people have told me how good the books are and that I should read them.  I figured, “Hey, I’m graduated and have some free time, why not?” I finished the first book of the series – The Hunger Games – last night.  It is a gripping read for young adult fiction.  It is also a disturbing read.  The entire book is about a strong federal government squelching states’ rights and forcing each state (district) to offer up two children to take part in a gladiatorial deathmatch with 22 other children.  Here is the trailer below:

I won’t spoil any details for you that aren’t in the trailer.  I will say, however, that I have no plans of letting my daughter read this as a child.  It is bloody and raw.  Deaths are described plainly.  This is not a children’s book. It is a young adult book.  It focuses on adult themes of death, survival, and civil disobedience.  I hate to say it was an entertaining read, because the brutal death of teenagers is not entertaining.  It was a gripping read. I am looking forward to the film, but I don’t know if I’m going to be able to get Jen to watch it with me.

I am interested by the casting of the film. I never would have pictured Lenny Kravitz as Cinna and Woody Harrelson as Haymitch, but I think it could be very entertaining.  I am also glad that Suzanne Collins (the author) adapted it for the film, so that it will at least be faithful to the book unlike so many other films (e.g., LOTR Two Towers or Harry Potter Goblet of Fire).

Hunger Games Lenny Kravitz Woody Harrelson

Until later friends…

