Life is rarely what we expect it to be. We make plans, those plans change. We expect health, health fails. We desire ease and comfort, but pain marks many of our days. Pain and disappointment find us at the most inconvenient times.  Such pain often causes us to ask “why?” Why me? Why now? Why her?

Book of JobLike Job, we wonder why the chips have fallen the way that they have. My wife and I are going through a difficult time right now.  Things are not going the way that I planned them.  There are unforeseen difficulties with our daughter.  Doctors believe these are fixable, but it is still distressing.  At times like this, I am thankful for the promises the Lord has given us in Scripture.

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.” – Romans 8:28-29

” He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” – Revelation 21:4

These promises remind me of two things:

God is sovereign over all things, even pain and suffering. – This means that everything I experience has meaning.  There is no such thing as meaningless suffering.  God purposes to conform me to his image through every experience I have.

Pain and suffering are temporary – “This too shall pass.” These are great words of comfort.  All pain will cease one day. The Lord Jesus Christ will wipe my tears away, and I will see how all things have worked together for good.

This week I have been particularly encouraged by my church, especially the sermon this past  Sunday “Faith in the Midst of Trials.”  I have also found great encouragement through music.  Hear are a few songs that have been encouraging to me this week:

Farther AlongJosh Garrels

I love the hymn “Farther Along,” and Josh Garrels has added some great verses to it. This songs points to the future hope of Revelation 21. One day every knee will bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, and there will be no more pain.

In the Night My Hope Lives OnAndrew Peterson

This is poetic. I listened to this song for an hour straight the first time I heard it.

Approach My Soul, The Mercy SeatJamie Barnes (Sojourn Music)

“Thy promise is my only plea O God.”

Until later friends…

