Dear Readers [i.e., Mom and bored facebook friends],

I apologize for taking so long to write a new post.  I last posted November 10th.  I have been incredibly busy since my last post.  I finally finished my master’s thesis on the German Baptist experience under the Third Reich.  It was great fun, but a lot of work.  My duties at work have also been consuming, which have made it difficult to find time to blog.  I have a few minutes today to blog, so I thought I’d just share some exciting things going on in my life (and random thoughts that pop into my head).

  • As you may know, we announced on October 10th that we’re going to have a baby. We found out yesterday that we’re going to have a little girl.  Here is her pictureMy first baby picture
  • I am pleased to announce that I am graduating from the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.  I have enjoyed my time at SBTS, but I am excited about taking a semester off from school to hang out with Mrs. For Aslan and prepare for our little lady.SBTS - Honeycutt Seminary Lawn
  • Mrs. For Aslan and I are planning to attend Andrew Peterson’s Behold the Lamb tour again this year.  This is one of our favorite Christmas traditions.  It is a great concert, based on a great cd.  Here’s a fun taste of it.  This is Andrew Peterson singing the genealogy of Jesus found in the book of Matthew:

.

  • I love this time of the year.  I love music, and the Christmas  season is full of great music.  Here are some songs that I really enjoy during this time of year that you might not know:

I used to sing “What Sweeter Music” with the Union University Singers.  I loved my years in a great choir, and I miss them.  This song is gorgeous.  John Rutter is spectacular.

Andy Gullahorn has written a wonderful song focused on communicating what Immanuel means.  He is an excellent songwriter, and he has a real way with words. Go buy his Christmas album recorded with his wife Jill Phillips. This song is well worth listening to.

You might already know this song, but I have to include it.  I absolutely love it.  It has a hauntingly rich melody, and it explores the mystery of the incarnation.

  • I am excited about getting to spend time with family during Christmas without any concern about finishing research or writing a paper.
  • I am excited about giving gifts.  I’ve found my lovely wife some great stuff, and now I am shopping for my lovely daughter.  I like these:Chicago Cubs Girl Onesies
  • I am also super excited about huge news in the coffee world.  The introduction of a solid electric pouring kettle:Bonavita Electric Kettle
  • Lastly, I’m excited about reading some books for fun.  Here are some books I have on my shelf and I plan to read in the next several months:

Guns Germs Steel

Hunting Eichmann

Tim Keller Counterfeit GodsYa’ll have any other reading suggestions?

Until later friends…

