Seriously? Bodum’s latest marketing campaign for their French Press coffee makers are centered on Chimps.  For real.

Bodum Chimp

I don’t know if they are trying to capitalize on the whole Planet of the Apes reboot, or if they are trying to steal the “It’s so easy a caveman can do it” concept.  Either way, this is pretty ridiculous marketing.

I just can’t get over this.  I’m not necessarily opposed to using apes/chimps in advertising for something that has nothing to do with apes/chimps, as is evidenced by my earlier post.  But this campaign seems completely random, without much humor.

Dear Bodum,

If you are going to continue using an ape, chimp, or monkey in advertising, please take a look at a proper use of ape humor in advertising:

Until later friends…
PS – I still love my Bodum French Press, I just wish they used different advertising methods.

Bodum Chambord French Press

