The Kernal GarnerI would like to introduce you to my friend Joe, or as he is known these days – The Kernal.  Joe is an ‘ole college buddy of mine, and when I say “buddy,” I mean one of those acquaintances that you love to get together with from time to time, but you won’t be in each others’ wills. Joe is a singer/songwriter.  He plays what he calls “Imaginary Country Music.”  He is a good musician, and he is a lot of fun to watch on stage.  He has come to the 930 here in Louisville twice in the past couple of years, and I always love going to see him play.  I have linked to a few blogs below that review his album Mourning Birds, which you should check out.  You can download it free from Noisetrade (just search for “Joe Garner”).  Mourning Birds is a five song EP, and I really enjoy it.  The theme of this EP is largely human mortality.  It is not a pick-me-up album, but it is well worth a download.  His song “Bury the Hatchet” is the one of the most hauntingly beautiful break-up songs I’ve ever heard in my life.

Give Joe a listen.  If you like his music be sure to check out his Startup Page.  If you download his music for free from Noisetrade and like it (which you will), then donate some towards his music video.

The Kernal Garner BandUntil later friends…

Related Articles About Joe/The Kernal

