Everyone loves movies that depict the life of musicians.  Whether it was Jamie Foxx playing Ray Charles, or Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon playing Johnny and June Carter Cash, musical biopics are always successful.

Jamie Foxx as Ray Charles

Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon as Johnny and June Carter CashI say it’s about time we had another musical biopic.  Yet, I think we need a happy biopic.  While I love Walk the Line, and I enjoyed Ray, they both dealt with a lot of difficult life situations (e.g., drugs, affairs, etc.).  We need a good biopic that glosses over all the indiscretions of the artists and just shows us great music and makes us laugh.  That’s why I recommend we get a biopic of Simon and Garfunkel in the works.  Seriously, who doesn’t love Simon and Garfunkel?

Simon and GarfunkelI don’t think I’ve ever met a human being that did not love “The Sound of Silence.”  Seriously, one of the best songs ever.

I suggest that someone make a Simon and Garfunkel movie soon.  I also suggest we make it comedic.  We don’t need any more drug subplots.  I’ve already got the casting figured out too.  Steve Carell and Will Ferrell.  Similar height disparity, and they both have decent singing abilities.

Steve Carell and Will Ferrell Dear movie producers, this film already has the majority of the plot and soundtrack written for you by Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel.  Just get Steve Carell to play Paul Simon and Will Ferrell to play Art Garfunkel, and you will have the first great comedic musical biopic.  No need to thank me for the millions of dollars you’ll make.  Just give me a cameo role as a background musician.

Until later friends…

