At heart, I am not a city kind of guy.  I like the city alright.  The city is where you go to see concerts, ballgames, and such.  Yet, the city is also where the most crime happens.  And the city is where you have to parallel park (something I didn’t even have to do for my driver’s test in Tennessee!).  I first moved to the  city almost three years ago, and it was a bit of a culture shock.  I grew up in a rural area within a 10-15 minute drive of anything I needed, but my home was a haven.  Nestled in the hills of middle Tennessee, I grew up in my own Helm’s Deep of sorts.  It was a safe place.

When we first moved to Louisville, we moved straight into the city.  No suburb stuff for us.  We rented an apartment in an old house in the city.  It was in the former Limerick district across from a beautiful Catholic church.  We liked living in a house built ca. 1900, but we soon discovered that the house we saw in the daylight was much different than the one we experienced at night.  To make a long story short, after being burglarized we discovered that we were in fact living in a crack house.  Welcome to Louisville!  We promptly moved to a safer apartment, and restarted our life in the city with less stuff and more paranoia.

Any of you that have ever experienced a burglary before understand the paranoia and the feeling of violation that come with it.  I already had my own fair share of paranoia (e.g., ever since my dad read me a book about cowboys when I was a kid, I get nervous every time I sit down in a restaurant with my back to the door – even though I’m fairly sure that there is no one out there planning on shooting me in the back of the head).  After having been burglarized and having to go through the whole insurance claim process, I am paranoid about valuables.  I take pictures of every new thing we get and save it online.  So, you can understand why I look forward to moving back to the country one day.

You might say, For Aslan why all this talk about the dangers of the city?  Well, this was all brought to my mind because of the Avett Brothers.  If you have not yet listened to them, you must.  I was first introduced to their music last year, and I’m a big fan.  I just recently came across one of their songs that I have come to identify with due to my love for the country and my paranoia in the city.  The song is, “Murder in the City.”

I love this song.  It makes me think of home.  It reminds me of the blessing safety is.  It reminds me of how much I love my family.  It reminds me that although rural Tennessee is where I feel most at home, my true home is not in this world.   I hope you enjoy it too.

Until later friends…

 

