I’m really itching to go to Chicago.  I am not a big city person.  I think that cities are much better to visit than to live in, but as far as cities go, Chicago is probably my favorite to visit.

Chicago Skyline

Recently several of my friends and acquaintances were in Chicago at Coffee Fest, representing Prima Coffee, Quills, and Sunergos. (And congrats to Louisville native Ryan Soeder on winning the Coffee Fest Latte Art Competition!)  I was jealous of their trip.  First, because I would love to get to experience Coffee Fest.  Second, because I love Chicago.

Here is a list of five reasons why I love Chicago:

The Chicago Cubs

Chicago Cubs

The Cubs are my favorite team.  This proves that I am a man of great faith.  I love going to Cubs games at Wrigley Field (the best baseball venue in the world – sorry BoSox fans).  If you’ve never been to a game at Wrigley, you need to go.  I don’t care if you hate the Cubs, it is a necessary experience for all sports fans.

Giordano’s

I know a lot of people like Gino’s, but for me, Giordano’s is the place to get pizza in Chicago. Jen and I always make sure to go there when we visit Chicago.

The Field Museum

Field Museum in Chicago

I’m a nerd, and I like museums – fact. The Field Museum is a great place to visit.  They have all sorts of fascinating exhibits.  My favorite exhibit is “The Lions of Tsavo” of The Ghost and the Darkness fame.

The Art Institute of Chicago

Chicago Art Museum

This is due to the influence of my artistic wife.  I appreciated art before meeting her, but she has helped me to enjoy it a lot more.  The Art Institute of Chicago is affordable and worth the visit.

Intelligentsia Coffee

Intelligentsia Coffee is one of my top two favorite national roasters (along with Counter Culture).  Intelligentsia has several shops in Chicago.  I was first introduced to their coffee at one of the Prima Coffee Barista Bashes, and I have loved Intelligentsia ever since. 

So, there are 5 reasons why I want to go to Chicago.  Opening Day is quickly approaching, and it has been far too long since the last time I had Chicago pizza.

Until later friends…

PS – Lou Mitchell’s and the used book stores of Hyde Park deserve mentioning too.

