A Happy Election Tuesday to you.  I hope you have the opportunity to go vote today, I will not here discuss my political ideas, because I do not want to start a comment war over politics (particularly I’m worried about the kind of things ‘ole Dub might say).  I will, however, fully endorse the measure on the Tennessee ballot to make hunting and fishing a constitutional, personal right.  Today I am taking a break from blogging about restaurant equipment and specialty coffee equipment.  Today is more of a stream of consciousness type of day.

I have to begrudgingly congratulate the San Francisco Giants.  I like Mark Derosa, Mike Fontenot, and a couple of other Giants, so I am happy for them, but I would have preferred to see Josh Hamilton and Cliff Lee hoist the trophy.  However, I am especially happy that the Yankees did not even make the World Series, thank you Rangers for guaranteeing that.

I am excited about the fast-approaching end of the semester.  I have two weeks left to finish a paper on which I am working regarding the apologetics of the Bekennende Kirche.  This is exciting for me, because I love studying German church history.  I had a meeting with a professor yesterday who has agreed to supervise me as I research and write my master’s thesis over the next 13 months.  I am planning on researching German Protestants under the Third Reich, focusing on their resistance, or (in too many cases) complicity.  When I tell most people about this, they either look at me like I’m a weirdo, or they say something along the lines of “So, you’ll be reading a lot of Bonhoeffer?”  Dietrich Bonhoeffer is one of my heroes, but my research will be much broader than just him.

Bonhoeffer has seen a huge leap in popularity in the past decade, especially with new books like Eric Metaxas‘s biography of him.

I hope to read this book within the next year (although I already slightly disagree with the subtitle, because Bonhoeffer was not a martyr in the strictest sense of the term- he was killed under political charges). I am really excited about what the next year holds in terms of research and writing.  I am excited about learning more about Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Martin Niemoller, Karl Barth, and other Reformed, Lutheran, and Baptist Germans that are currently nameless to me.  That’s about it for now.  The semester is winding down, but the next year is at my doorstep; all of which, excites me.  Until later friends…

