So, it just occurred to me that Christmas is not that far away.  In fact, according to Santa Clause’s countdown, there are only 63 days left until Christmas (I apologize to any former home-schooler that I offended by mentioning Santa Clause).  It is hard to believe that Christmas season is coming upon us (partially because I spend 3/4 of the year telling Kirk that it is the wrong time of the year to be singing “Good King Wenceslas”).  I think Christmas sneaks up on me every year – like a ninja.  Part of the reason Christmas gets the drop on me every year is school.  This time of year, I am always grinding my teeth, losing sleep, and being a bad friend due to pressing deadlines and assignments.  Thanksgiving is a light break in the middle of the mayhem, and by the time I’m done with the semester, Christmas is standing in the shadows ready to bearhug me.

I am looking forward to the Christmas season.  Hopefully we’ll be able to go to the Behold the Lamb tour again this year.  I am also looking forward to some Boiled Custard in Tennessee.

Most of all, I am looking forward to getting together with all of our family.

Christmas is not about gifts – it is about the incarnation of the Son of God, Jesus.  However, gift-giving is a fun part of Christmas celebration.  I do a lot of my shopping online. This is helpful because I am a major procrastinator.  One thing I have to be careful about is how I choose the gifts for people.  I have a tendency for getting other people stuff that I like; however, as much as I like the Mypressi Twist, Chemex Coffeemaker, and Hario V60 – those would make terrible gifts for my non-coffee-snobbish family members.  Every now and then I can get someone something that I like and that they like – this works especially well with my dad (e.g., Band of Brothers and Complete Looney Tunes Collection on DVD).  Any Christmas gift ideas other than specialty coffee equipment?  Until later friends…

