This photo is some professional photographer's photo, I claim no rights on it and have linked to the source where I found it.

In case you haven’t been paying attention to world news the past 2-1/2 months, there have been 33 miners stuck in a collapsed copper mine.  The mine collapsed the first week of August, and they have been surviving in a small shelter in the mine waiting for their rescuers to drill down to them.  Last night during my night class I found that CNN had a cool graphic on it where you could watch a life feed, and it had a list of the miners which showed the progress of the rescue effort.  I am glad that these people will finally be able to see and hug their families again.  It is a miracle that they all survived, and that the rescuers were able to get to them.  Technology is crazy. You really should read about all that has gone into getting these guys out of there.

Thinking about these miners being trapped together for 69 days has caused me to think about what it would be like to be stuck with my co-workers for that long in a mine.  I like my coworkers, and I think we could survive a while – especially since Karen just brought in food. Although, things would get bad pretty quick once the coffee withdrawals kicked in.  I can just imagine Lee weeping in a corner as he tries to plug in the Pino Digital Kettle Pro to the wall to no avail, whereas I think Josh #2 might come off coffee pretty easy since he hasn’t built up quite the addiction (Josh #1’s coffee fast would already be preparing him for this tragedy).  Matt would keep us warm with the small fire of the Yama Siphon Brewer, but I see him going a little crazy and trying to use it as a weapon by Day 6 – that is until Barbara takes on her mom voice and calms him down.  Eeyore would cry about the lack of vegetables…hippie.    I think Warren would endlessly talk into his headset that is no longer connected to anything, and Stephanie would pace back and forth muttering something about how she was supposed to be in Chicago.  Stephen would try to get us to reorganize things twice a day – until even Dave and Pete showed annoyance and we committed mutiny.  I imagine Lyle would disappear into the mine for hours at a time and bring back meat – from where we don’t know.   Andy would disappear into the mine with some climbing gear and his chacos (unbeknownst to us that he would be bringing back help 13 days later).  Kirk would probably go crazy about Day 9 and start trying to use dirt in his Aeropress.  After that, I don’t want to think about what it would be like.

All kidding aside, when you think about what it would really be like to be forced to share life 24 hours a day for 69 days with several people  in an enclosed place, it sounds pretty awful.  I am glad these poor miners are finally being rescued, and I hope I never end up in a similar situation.

Until later friends…

