It is Columbus Day.  Not the most exciting of holidays.  I’m not sure if kids get out of school or not, but I know that I don’t get mail and I can’t go to the bank.  Columbus Day is pretty much a letdown.  Seriously, we all know Leif Ericson landed on the North American continent first, and he was a lot manlier than Christopher Columbus.  I mean, look:

Leif Ericson has a walrus on his helmet…I’m just saying.   Christopher Columbus was a fine explorer. I do not mean to diminish the fact that he rode a leaky wooden boat all the way from Spain to America (without any of the comforts of his native Italy like pizza, spaghetti, a nuova simonelli espresso machine, or diving soccer players.)  Although Columbus did some difficult stuff, credit needs to be given where credit is due.  It seems by all accounts that Leif Ericson got here first, and little kids should get to wear viking helmets and have a day off of school.  In the same way that we shouldn’t believe that siphon brewers came to America from Japan – just because Yama and Hario siphons are more famous than the much older European models – we should not think that Columbus was the first European to land in North America – just because our banks close for him. So, Happy Columbus Leif Ericson Day! Until later friends…

