Welcome back to “The Life of a Restaurant Equipment Employee” blog series.  It has been a while since I have focused a blog on restaurant equipment.  I thought about writing about grease traps, but one of my friends already wrote a solid blog series on them starting here.  I also fear that I have written too often about refrigerator parts, and if I write any more about them, I will lose the few readers I have.  After having a “green” blog post earlier this week, ya’ll will probably be scared I’m going down the raw-food-hippie path if I wax eloquently about a Vita-Mix Blender:

Vita Prep 3

So, what to write about?  What is something that is neutral, and more entertaining than a refrigerator temperature control? I think the answer is quite simple…stainless steel wall shelves!  Everyone is all excited about having stainless steel everything in homes nowadays.  Stainless steel is pretty cool (except that you can’t hang magnets on it).  We moved to a new apartment this spring, and we upgraded to a larger kitchen.  The layout of the kitchen was a little strange.  The refrigerator is in this vastly oversized niche. So, we put a small bookshelf for Jen’s many cooking books beside it. There was also a lot of space above the refrigerator, since we no longer live in a basement.  So, we decided to purchase a stainless steel wall shelf, and hang it above the refrigerator.

Stainless Wall ShelfI generally hate hanging things.  I take that back. I hate hanging things that require more than one nail. Once I figured out that the mounting brackets are not interchangeable, it was very simple to install.  The shelf looks great in our kitchen, and it is great for Jen’s little artistic knickknacks. Until later friends…

