Well, this photo describes yesterday’s game (Notice the flying Viking divebombing this poor quarterback no one has heard of, and the other Viking running up from behind like a Norse Ninja).  The Vikings finally won their first game of the season.  Of course, it was against Detroit, but I’ll take what I can get.

I love good defense in football.  I rode the bench as a cornerback in middle-school, and as a result, I view football through defensive lenses.  I have always been a fan of defense, and I do not think that is only because I am offensively challenged in most sports.  It’s no surprise then that I have both the Vikings and Ravens defensive squads on my fantasy team.  The Ravens have been consistently great in defense for years, mainly because they have a linebacker that is not scared to stab people.  The Vikings are – in my opinion – the scariest pass-rushing/rushing defense in the league.  Jared Allen is a manbeast, plain and simple.  It was good to see the Vikings defense and Adrian Peterson‘s pure awesomeness (160 rushing yards, 30 receiving yards, and 2 TD) compensate for another poor performance from Favre.

Also, it was great to see Joe Flacco finally realize that the preseason is over.  Flacco has three solid receivers in Boldin, Houshmandzadeh, and Mason.  I think he will put up career numbers this season now that they are starting to gel. Say hello to an offensively lead Baltimore Ravens – sorry Ray Lewis.

I am more excited about the NFL season this year than I have been in a long time.  Thanks Lee for introducing me to fantasy football, and inciting in me an interest in every single game, and sorry to all of you that think Fantasy Football is nerdy.  Until later friends…

