Our German Friends

We had a lot of fun yesterday.  We drove down to Nashville yesterday afternoon, and met with my friends Thomas and Daniel from Germany.  I knew Thomas had a traveling companion named Daniel, but I did not put two and two together to realize that I knew this Daniel.  We had a great time talking for a couple of hours about their trip, and about the ministry in Jena.

Jena, Germany

They flew in to Atlanta, and visited Jackson, TN and Norman, OK.  They also visited – and were overwhelmed by – Bellevue Baptist Church in Memphis, which is ginormous according to American Protestant Church standards, and unheard of in Germany.  Daniel and Thomas have been on what they have called their Vision Trip – thinking and praying about the ministry, and telling friends and supporters about it here in the States.  It was really nice to reconnect with these brothers, and Jennifer really enjoyed meeting them.  It made me long to return to Germany, and Thomas repeatedly encouraged us to do so.

Coffee

Dose Coffee and Tea was everything I hoped it to be.  It is right across the exit from 440, and very accessible.  The parking was a little limited, but we were able to find a place easily.  Dose has a very comfortable setup.  The colors and layout are nice, even if it is a little smaller than I imagined, and they had some stellar photography prominently displayed.  Jennifer got a hot apple cider (non-alcoholic – unlike the Fantastic Mr. Fox Cider), and I had a very nice cup of Tanzanian Coffee, made by Aeropress.  Dose has a great setup, and I enjoyed talking with the friendly and knowledgeable barista – although I do not remember his name.  Dose has a sweet La Marzocco Linea Espresso Machine.  They had some sort of drip coffee machine, but I do not remember what kind it was.  As mentioned above, Dose  has an Aeropress option, and they will do a Chemex pourover for you as well – both of which are ground by a Baratza Maestro.  They also had many coffee options – including several single origins.  And for tea people, they had all sorts of tea stuff, but honestly, I don’t really care about that, so I didn’t pay it too much attention.

So, the moral of the story is: Make friends with Germans, and if you need coffee in Nashville, go to Dose. Until later my friends…

